The Shining and The Eerie

The Shining got under my skin when I read it at the age of fourteen: the corridors that extend in time as well as space; the catatonic drop-outs; telepathy; schizophrenia; the Poe and Carroll intertexts; the pulp modernist experiments with layout … Later, I would see a quasi-schizoanalytic critique of patriarchy and patriarchal time (the […]

Getting away with murder

The Mark Duggan verdict was both shocking and predictable. Shocking, because it is a verdict that so clearly ignores not only evidence but blatant inconsistencies in evidence. Predictable, because we are now accustomed to seeing the Met getting away with murder. As Stafford Scott‘s piece in the Guardian today makes clear, the police case explanation […]

Going Overground

Owen Jones is correct about the need for a left-wing populism. As I argued in the wake of Thatcher’s death last year, reactively firefighting an agenda set by the right will keep us on the backfoot forever. Having the best arguments is only part of the battle; what the right – even this degenerate, incompetent, […]

Ghosts Of My Life

Ghosts Of My Life out May 2014 on Zer0 books. Cover photograph by Chris Heppell and illustrations by Laura Oldfield Ford. Publicist: ‘After the brilliance of Capitalist Realism, Ghosts Of My Life confirms Mark Fisher’s role as our greatest and most trusted navigator of these times out of joint, through all their frissons and […]

Remember Who The Enemy Is

  There’s something so uncannily timely about The Hunger Games: Catching Fire that it’s almost disturbing. In the UK over the past few weeks, there’s been a palpable sense that the dominant reality system is juddering, that things are starting to give. There’s an awakening from hedonic depressive slumber, and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire  is not […]

Three events this week …

1. Wednesday, 13 March at Waterstone’s Trafalgar Square: Capitalist Realism: What is it and how to fight it With Mark Fisher, Peter Fleming and Alex Niven. (Unfortunately, there is a charge for this – naturally, however, none of the money is going to the authors … ) 2. Saturday 16 March, at the Showroom Discussion […]

Two recent endorsements

Two books I’ve recently endorsed, and which I would heavily recommend: “What’s left of public space after thirty years of neoliberalism? Sam Berkson’s new collection, Life In Transit, finds the degraded relics of public space on public transport. Like the music of Burial or Laura Oldfield Ford’s Savage Messiah zines, Life In Transit is attuned […]

On Vanishing Land

Mark Fisher and Justin Barton: On Vanishing Land 6 February–30 March 2013 Opening Hours: Wednesday–Saturday, 12–6pm Press Breakfast with the artists: Tuesday 5 February, 9.30–11am Preview: Tuesday 5 February, 6.30–8.30pm Performances by John Foxx and Raime: Thursday 7 March, 7pm (see for information and booking) Discussion with Mark Fisher, Justin Barton, The Otolith Collective, […]

New Product

New Product (2012) by Harun Farocki Screening and discussion with Nina Montmann, Mark Fisher and Andrea Phillips 2pm, 29 November, Room 5, Studio B, Barriedale Buildings, Goldsmiths, University of London. Over the period of one year Harun Farocki joined the meetings of the Quickborner Team, a business consultancy in Hamburg, as they developed a new […]

The London Hunger Games

Welcome to the Hunger Games. The function of the Hunger Games is to suppress antagonism, via spectacle and terror. In the same way, London – 2012 preceded and accompanied by the authoritarian lockdown and militarisation of the city – are being held up as the antidote to all discontent. The feelgood Olympics, we are being […]